sleepless in seattle

seattle sounders

Sorry for the lack of updates in the last few days, loyal readers, but I have been traveling around the great pacific northwest. I have to say, this trip has actually confirmed my thought that football is finally gaining widespread acceptance in this country. Every bar in every airport, every lobby hotel bar, every sports bar– they have all been showing the European matches. This is THE MOST beneficial thing for the development of our own talent pool. Growing up we didn’t have such coverage, and so we never saw the game played at its highest level. Now all the American kids are growing up watching the Premiership and the Euro as easily as they watch the World Series. There is no better way for young players to learn how the game is supposed to be played.

Apparently the US Nashitnal team beat Barbados 8-0 the other day. Of course, this is after the Barbados national side took out ads looking for players (see quote). Damn, CONCACAF is the toughest qualifying group in the world. Why don’t the Europeans give it the respect it deserves?

ARE YOU BARBADIAN BY BIRTH,

NATIONALITY, OR DESCENT?
LET US CHECK IT OUT FOR YOU
DO YOU PLAY FOOTBALL PROFESSIONALLY?
WOULD YOU LIKE TO BECOME A MEMBER OF BARBADOS’ NATIONAL FOOTBALL PROGRAMME? Seniors, Youth, Women.
SEND US A NOTE AT bdosfootball@caribsurf.com
or ronalddac@yahoo.com.

By the way, I have totally abandoned the fantasy leagues I’m in for Euro 2008, since I don’t understand the rules and can’t be bothered to make changes to my team when I don’t even know if they’ll count. My rivals, Saint and Bangers, are sure to rub salt in my wounds– removing myself and considering my $20 lost is the surest way to diffuse their gloating.

I’m watching the France-Italy match and the news that Huntelaar put the Dutch up over Romania just came through. Damn, I’d love to see both France and Italy fall out. These teams are terrible to watch, as opposed to the brilliant Oranje, who I will be posting on directly.

2 Comments

Filed under International Sides

2 responses to “sleepless in seattle

  1. Saint

    Right, it’s the game’s fault. Rules are tough – defenders and keepers get points for clean sheets, all player get points for scoring goals – hit save to save lineup. Monkey could figure it out. Cash or check will be fine on that $20.

  2. soccerese

    the bench players score points? What the hell is that about? whatever, relish in your tainted victory.

Leave a Reply

